web analytics

Review: The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses concert

The Legend of Zelda franchise has long been known for its wonderful adventure stories and timeless music. With 30 years of soundtracks to draw from, The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses concert series brings this music live to fans all across the world in a memorable, can’t-miss experience. Played to the backdrop of game footage from the respective games, music selections included songs from Majora’s Mask, Breath of the Wild, A Link Between Worlds, Creation of Hyrule, Skyward Sword, Ocarina of Time, Windwaker, Twilight Princess, and more. I had the distinct pleasure of attending the performance in Los Angeles at the Dolby Theatre.

Each musical arrangement in the show evoked heartwarming nostalgia amongst fans in the audience, evidenced by spurts of cheers or even humming along. Many iconic themes were chosen, and arrangements weaved together multiple recognizable themes at times to create an entirely new summary of particular games. The quality sound from a live orchestra performing these tracks in a concert hall really brings out all the emotions behind each game. Though not all fan-favorite tracks were selected as part of the night’s setlist, the music fit together beautifully for an amazing production.

Of note, conductor Kevin Zakresky easily controlled the enthusiastic crowd with his positive energy, and made sure each individual piece of the orchestra was acknowledged for their brilliant performance.

To tell you how much fans were attached to their seats from the moment the concert started to the end…let’s just say that the line for merchandise wrapped around the venue 4 times post-concert. The performance was an unforgettable experience.

Be sure to check it out yourselves in person! The tour will run until the end of the year. Get your tickets here: https://zelda-symphony.com/pages/schedule

Sample Setlist:

  • Act 1:
    • Overture
    • Dragon Roost Island
    • Majora’s Mask medley
    • Breath of the Wild
    • A Link Between Worlds
    • Prelude ~ The Creation of Hyrule
    • Movement I ~ Skyward Sword
    • Movement II ~ Ocarina of Time
  • Act 2:
    • Intermezzo ~ Temple of Time
    • Movement III ~ The Windwaker
    • Movement IV ~ Twilight Princess
    • Movement V ~ A Link to the Past
  • Encore:
    • Ballad of the Windfish
    • Goron City